SodaPeak Ingredients: All Eight, in Label Order
SodaPeak holds eight ingredients inside one 1,200 mg Test Boost Proprietary Blend.
In label order: horny goat weed, tongkat ali, saw palmetto, nettle root, wild yam, sarsaparilla, orchic substance and boron amino acid chelate. Four of the eight have a human trial behind them.
Read the full panel on the Supplement Facts page.
The panel lists eight ingredients inside a single 1,200 mg blend: horny goat weed, tongkat ali, saw palmetto, nettle root, wild yam, sarsaparilla, orchic substance and boron amino acid chelate. No individual amount is disclosed for any of them.
Four of the eight have a human trial behind them and four do not. The seller’s brief and both supplied marketing images show only six, leaving out the bovine testicle tissue and the boron chelate.
The eight, in the order the label prints them
Transcribed from the supplied photograph of the bottle back. The position number leads each block, because it is the only quantitative statement the label makes about any single ingredient.
Below is every ingredient the Supplement Facts panel declares, in the order it declares them, with the ceiling that order implies and the lowest human dose we were able to verify for each. Nothing has been reordered for readability and nothing has been left out because it was awkward. The seventh entry is bovine testicle tissue and the eighth is a boron raw material; both are on the bottle and neither is in the marketing.
Read the tag under each block rather than the milligram figure beside it. The ceiling is not a dose. It is the largest amount that ingredient could possibly be, given where it sits in the list, and it is almost certainly generous.
Four of these carry a tag saying no dose has been established to test against. That is not a criticism of the ingredient so much as a statement about the literature: for horny goat weed, wild yam, sarsaparilla and orchic substance there is no oral human dose we could find to hold the ceiling up against, so no verdict is possible either way.
The full milligram budget →The two the marketing leaves out →The panel, transcribed →
Why the printed order is the only quantitative fact here
21 CFR 101.36(c)(2) requires a blend to be listed in descending order of predominance by weight. That single rule turns a list of names into a set of upper bounds.
If eight things are listed heaviest first and together they weigh 1,200 mg, then the second one cannot weigh more than half the total, the third no more than a third of it, and so on down. Divide the total by the position number and you have a ceiling. It is not a dose and it is not an estimate — it is a limit, and it is the most the label will ever tell you about a single ingredient.
The column headed lowest studied human dose is deliberately the reading most favorable to the product. Where a range of doses has been trialled we have used the smallest one at which anything was reported, not a typical one, and we have made no allowance for standardization, which this label does not state for anything.
| # | Ingredient | Ceiling at this position | Lowest studied human dose | What the position allows |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Horny Goat Weed Extract | 1,200 mg | none established | No dose to compare against |
| 2 | Tongkat Ali Powder | 600 mg | 100 mg | Position allows it — 6.00× headroom |
| 3 | Saw Palmetto Extract | 400 mg | 320 mg | Position allows it — 1.25× headroom |
| 4 | Nettle Extract | 300 mg | 360 mg | Position forbids it — short by 1.20× |
| 5 | Wild Yam Extract | 240 mg | none established | No dose to compare against |
| 6 | Sarsaparilla | 200 mg | none established | No dose to compare against |
| 7 | Orchic Substance | 171.4 mg | none established | No dose to compare against |
| 8 | Boron Amino Acid Chelate | 150 mg | 60 mg | Position allows it — 2.50× headroom |
Scroll this table sideways →
One row is a straightforward failure. Nettle root sits fourth, so its ceiling is 1,200 mg divided by four, which is 300 mg. The lowest dose in its published trials is 360 mg a day. No split of this blend, however favorable, puts nettle root at a dose anyone has studied.
And two of the rows that pass cannot both pass at once
Saw palmetto sits third and needs 320 mg. Descending order then puts positions one and two at 320 mg or more each, so the first three account for at least 960 mg of the total and leave at most 240 mg for the remaining five.
Boron sits eighth and needs about 60 mg of chelate. Descending order puts positions four to seven at 60 mg or more each as well, so those five positions need at least 300 mg. That is more than is left. The two are mutually exclusive, and the whole derivation is set out on the proof page.
The four with a human trial behind them
Four of the eight have been given to people in a controlled study and had something measured. That is a low bar and it is worth saying which four clear it, because the other four do not clear it at all. Clearing it does not mean the trial found what the blend’s name implies.
Tongkat ali — position 2
The strongest record on this label. A 2022 systematic review and meta-analysis looked at Eurycoma longifolia in male infertility and hypogonadism, and a 2021 randomised trial gave a standardized extract to men aged 50 to 70 for twelve weeks and reported an effect on total testosterone. Its own trial compared two doses and found 200 mg worked better than 100 mg.
Its ceiling here is 600 mg, so the position allows either dose comfortably. What the label does not say is how much is actually present, or whether the material is standardized to eurycomanone the way the trial material was.
Saw palmetto — position 3
A large literature, almost all of it about the urinary symptoms of an enlarged prostate rather than about testosterone. The 2006 New England Journal of Medicine trial gave 320 mg a day and found no benefit over placebo on symptom scores, and the 2023 Cochrane review of the whole field concluded there was little to no benefit.
A 2001 tissue study is the one that matters for a product called Test Boost: it measured prostate tissue DHT falling by 32% on saw palmetto. That is an effect, and it points in the opposite direction to the blend’s name.
Nettle root — position 4
A 2005 randomised crossover study ran 360 mg a day for six months in men with benign prostatic hyperplasia, and a 2016 meta-analysis and a 2012 European Medicines Agency assessment report cover the same ground. The trial measured serum testosterone directly and found it unchanged.
This is the ingredient whose position forbids its dose, so the question of what it would do here is doubly hypothetical: the trial did not find a testosterone effect, and the label cannot be supplying the amount the trial used.
Boron amino acid chelate — position 8
Two small human studies. The 1987 study repleted twelve postmenopausal women after a boron-poor diet and reported changes in plasma testosterone and estradiol; the 2011 study gave 10 mg a day to men for a week. The NIH Office of Dietary Supplements fact sheet is the sober reading of both.
The position has the most headroom of anything on the label. The difficulty is that “boron amino acid chelate” is a raw material rather than an element, and the label states no elemental figure, so the ceiling is a ceiling on the chelate and not on the boron.
The four without one
The remaining four have no oral human dose we could verify. In three cases the literature is thin; in one case a named monograph states plainly that clinical studies have not been conducted. Where there is no trial there is no dose, and where there is no dose the ceiling has nothing to be compared with.
Horny goat weed — position 1
The heaviest thing in the blend and the one with the weakest human record. A 2019 randomised dose-escalation study of icariin, its marker compound, reported very low or undetectable blood levels at every dose from 100 mg to 1,680 mg, and a 2026 assessment of the registered clinical trials describes the gap between the preclinical work and the human evidence as the central problem.
A consumer monograph also notes that products in this category have been found to contain undeclared prescription drugs. That is a statement about the category, not about this product, and it is the clearest reason to want a certificate of analysis. None was supplied.
Wild yam — position 5
Sold on a claim that is specifically refuted. The diosgenin in wild yam is a laboratory starting material for making steroid hormones, and Memorial Sloan Kettering states that there is no evidence the human body performs that conversion. The chemistry happens in a factory, not in a person.
Sarsaparilla — position 6
The Memorial Sloan Kettering monograph on Smilax glabra is unambiguous: clinical studies have not been conducted. There is nothing to compare the ceiling against, in either direction, and we are not going to fill that space with laboratory work on cells.
Orchic substance — position 7
Bovine testicle tissue, absent from the brief and from both marketing images. A consumer monograph on orchic extract says there is not enough reliable information to know whether it is safe. It is also one of the two reasons this product cannot be vegetarian, the other being the gelatin capsule.
It is worth being precise about what is and is not a concern here. Bovine testicle tissue is not on FDA’s list of prohibited cattle materials and is not a specified risk material, so we will not imply a hazard the regulation does not describe. What is missing is narrower and real: the source country, the age of the cattle and the processing method are all unstated.
A blend called Test Boost, with a 5-alpha reductase inhibitor third
The blend’s printed name is Test Boost Proprietary Blend. Read the list underneath that name in order and the third entry is saw palmetto, which inhibits the enzyme that converts testosterone into DHT, and the fourth is nettle root, whose own six-month trial measured serum testosterone and found it unchanged.
This is not an accusation that the formula is sabotaged. Saw palmetto and nettle root are both standard ingredients in prostate and urinary formulas, and a men’s product that included them for that reason would be making an ordinary choice. The oddity is the name printed above them.
- Position 3, saw palmetto
- Inhibits 5-alpha reductase. A 2001 tissue study measured prostate tissue DHT falling 32%. Memorial Sloan Kettering lists decreased libido among its common side effects.
- Position 4, nettle root
- Testosterone measured directly in a randomised six-month trial and reported unchanged. Its established use is urinary symptoms.
- Position 2, tongkat ali
- The one ingredient with a systematic review reporting an effect on total testosterone, and the one whose position comfortably allows a studied dose.
- Positions 1, 5, 6 and 7
- No oral human dose established. Whatever they are doing, no trial has measured it in a person at any amount.
The honest summary is that two of the eight have measured effects on androgen biology and they point in opposite directions, one has a measured effect and it is on urinary symptoms rather than hormones, and four have nothing measured at all. A product name is not evidence, and on this label it is doing a lot of work.
Six callouts on the marketing, eight ingredients on the bottle
Two marketing images were supplied with this product. Both carry the same six hexagonal callouts, and both stop at six. The panel on the bottle lists eight. A buyer reading anything except the back of the bottle would not learn that orchic substance or boron amino acid chelate is in this product at all.


The omissions are not random. One of the two is an animal tissue that decides whether the product is suitable for a vegetarian, and the other is the ingredient with the most headroom at its position. Both are things a buyer would want to know before ordering rather than after the bottle arrives.
The seller’s own brief lists the same six, and flags the risk itself: it tells the reader to confirm against the bottle, because marketplace copy and advertising do not always match. We have taken that instruction literally throughout this site — where the brief and the artwork disagree, the artwork wins.
What a standardization figure would have told you
A milligram of a botanical extract is not a unit of anything until you know what the extract is standardized to. This label states no standardization for any of the eight.
Trials do not use “tongkat ali”; they use a specified extract with a stated marker content. Change the extraction ratio or the marker percentage and the same milligram figure delivers a different amount of the thing that was actually studied. Without that figure, comparing this label to a trial is comparing a weight to a specification.
| Ingredient | What a trial specifies | What this label states |
|---|---|---|
| Horny Goat Weed Extract | Icariin content, and the extraction ratio | Nothing. “Extract” and a plant part. |
| Tongkat Ali Powder | Eurycoma longifolia standardized to a stated eurycomanone content | Nothing. The word is “Powder”, not “Extract”. |
| Saw Palmetto Extract | Fatty acid and sterol content, typically 85% to 95% for the trialled material | Nothing. |
| Nettle Extract (root) | The extraction solvent and ratio, which differ between root preparations | Nothing beyond “Root”. |
| Wild Yam Extract | Diosgenin content | Nothing. |
| Sarsaparilla | No trial exists to specify anything | Nothing, and nothing to state. |
| Orchic Substance | No trial exists. Source and processing would be the minimum. | Nothing. Not even a country. |
| Boron Amino Acid Chelate | Elemental boron in milligrams, which is what every study dosed | Nothing. Only the raw material name. |
Scroll this table sideways →
The boron row is the one where the absence bites hardest. Every boron study on this site dosed elemental boron — 3 mg in the 1987 repletion study, 10 mg in the 2011 study — and common trade grades of amino acid chelate run at around 5% elemental. That is a trade generalization, not a specification for this product, and no specification was supplied.
Why we will not estimate it
It would be easy to multiply the ceiling by a typical grade and print a boron figure. We are not going to, because the result would look like a measurement and would be a guess about a raw material we have never seen a specification for.
The honest version is the one on this page: the position caps the chelate at 150 mg, the elemental content is not stated, and therefore the elemental dose is not knowable from the label.
What the label does not state, for anything in the blend
Everything in this list is legal to omit. A proprietary blend may declare a single total, and nothing obliges a supplement label to publish a specification, a test result or a source. That is exactly why a page like this one has to exist: the things a buyer most wants are the things the label is permitted to leave out.
- Any individual amount. Eight ingredients, one number, and the order. That is the whole of the quantitative disclosure.
- Any standardization. No icariin percentage, no eurycomanone figure, no fatty acid content, no diosgenin content, no elemental boron figure.
- The elemental boron content of the chelate. The chelate is named; the element it delivers is not quantified anywhere.
- The source and processing of the orchic substance. Country of origin, age of the cattle and processing method are all unstated.
- A certificate of analysis. A reference number was supplied. No document was, and a reference number is not a test result.
- Any third-party testing. None of any kind was supplied to this site, for identity, potency, heavy metals or adulterants.
- A place of business for the distributor. The label prints “Distributed by: Vitalifes” and stops.
Two of those gaps are worth chasing before you buy rather than after. Ask the seller for a certificate of analysis naming the lot, and ask what the elemental boron content of the chelate is. Both are ordinary questions with short answers, and a supplier who has the documents will not mind being asked.
The budget in full →What testing was supplied →How to read a blend →What the order means →
References
The sources behind the numbers on this page.
- U.S. Government Publishing Office21 CFR 101.36 — Nutrition labeling of dietary supplements, including the proprietary blend and descending-order requirements — Code of Federal Regulations · source
- Brown, Wang, Hajduczok et al. — 2019Pharmacokinetics and safety of icariin in healthy adults: a randomized, double-blind, placebo-controlled dose escalation — Natural Product Communications · DOI 10.1177/1934578X19856789 · source
- Gu, and colleagues — 2026A critical assessment of icariin and icaritin: registered clinical trials and the gap between preclinical and human evidence — Frontiers in Pharmacology · DOI 10.3389/fphar.2026.1832264 · source
- WebMD / Natural MedicinesHorny Goat Weed — uses, side effects and adulteration warning — WebMD.com · source
- Chinnappan, Rahmat, Mohamed et al. — 2021Efficacy of Eurycoma longifolia (Physta®) on testosterone and quality of life in men aged 50 to 70 — Food & Nutrition Research · DOI 10.29219/fnr.v65.5647 · source
- Leisegang, Finelli, Sikka, Panner Selvam — 2022Eurycoma longifolia and male infertility and hypogonadism: a systematic review and meta-analysis — Medicina (Kaunas), volume 58 · DOI 10.3390/medicina58081047 · PMID 36013514 · source
- Bent, Kane, Shinohara et al. — 2006Saw palmetto for benign prostatic hyperplasia — New England Journal of Medicine · DOI 10.1056/NEJMoa053085 · PMID 16467543 · source
- Marks, Hess, Dorey et al. — 2001Tissue effects of saw palmetto and finasteride: use of biopsy cores for in situ quantification of prostatic androgens — Urology, volume 57 · DOI 10.1016/S0090-4295(00)01052-9 · source
- Franco, Trivisonno, Sgarbossa et al. — 2023Serenoa repens for the treatment of lower urinary tract symptoms due to benign prostatic enlargement — Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews · DOI 10.1002/14651858.CD001423.pub4 · source
- Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer CenterSaw Palmetto — integrative medicine herb monograph — MSKCC.org · source
- National Center for Complementary and Integrative HealthSaw Palmetto — what the science says — NCCIH.NIH.gov · source
- Safarinejad — 2005Urtica dioica for treatment of benign prostatic hyperplasia: a prospective, randomized, double-blind, placebo-controlled, crossover study — Journal of Herbal Pharmacotherapy · DOI 10.1080/J157v05n04_01 · PMID 16635963 · source
- European Medicines Agency — 2012Assessment report on Urtica dioica L. and Urtica urens L., radix (EMA/HMPC/461156/2008) — EMA.europa.eu · source
- Men, and colleagues — 2016A systematic review and meta-analysis of Urtica dioica for benign prostatic hyperplasia — African Journal of Traditional, Complementary and Alternative Medicines · DOI 10.4314/ajtcam.v13i2.17 · source
- Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer CenterWild Yam — integrative medicine herb monograph — MSKCC.org · source
- Drugs.com professional monographWild Yam — clinical overview and dosing — Drugs.com · source
- Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer CenterSmilax glabra (sarsaparilla) — integrative medicine herb monograph — MSKCC.org · source
- WebMD / Natural MedicinesOrchic Extract — uses, evidence and dosing — WebMD.com · source
- U.S. Government Publishing Office21 CFR 189.5 — Prohibited cattle materials, including the definitions of specified risk materials and of gelatin — Code of Federal Regulations · source
- U.S. Food and Drug Administration — 2020Import Alert 17-04: Detention Without Physical Examination of Bulk Shipments of High-Risk Bovine Tissue from BSE-Countries — FDA.gov · source
- Nielsen, Hunt, Mullen, Hunt — 1987Effect of dietary boron on mineral, estrogen, and testosterone metabolism in postmenopausal women — The FASEB Journal, volume 1 · DOI 10.1096/fasebj.1.5.3678698 · PMID 3678698 · source
- Naghii, Mofid, Asgari et al. — 2011Comparative effects of daily and weekly boron supplementation on plasma steroid hormones and proinflammatory cytokines — Journal of Trace Elements in Medicine and Biology · DOI 10.1016/j.jtemb.2010.10.001 · source
- NIH Office of Dietary SupplementsBoron — Health Professional Fact Sheet — ods.od.nih.gov · source
See the SodaPeak packs
One, three or six bottles. The price is on the seller’s checkout page, because it is the one figure this site was never given — and a figure we were not given is not a figure we will print.
Shipping and the guarantee term are shown at checkout. This site publishes no number it was not able to verify.