U.S. authorized SodaPeak merchant60 capsules · 30 days1,200 mg shared by 8 ingredientsSupports healthy muscle
SodaPeakSodapeakwellnessSee the packs

How Much of Each Ingredient Is in SodaPeak? The Eight Ceilings

You cannot find out how much saw palmetto is in a SodaPeak capsule. You can find out the most it could be. That is a smaller answer, but it is a firm one.

Written by SodaPeak Editorial DeskMedically reviewed by Dr. James Bateman III, MD, MPH, PhysicianReviewed Published Last updated Reading time 9 min

Quick answer

The SodaPeak label prints one total, 1,200 mg, for eight ingredients and no single amount. Because ingredients are listed heaviest first, position k can weigh at most 1,200 divided by k. That gives eight ceilings, from 1,200 mg for horny goat weed down to 150 mg for boron chelate.

The rule

Can you tell how much of each ingredient is in SodaPeak?

Not from the label. A proprietary blend may print one total and keep the split private. SodaPeak does exactly that: 1,200 mg for the Test Boost Proprietary Blend, eight names, no amounts.

But the order is not free. The rule behind it is short. The ingredients of a blend must be named in order of weight, heaviest first. So the list runs from heaviest at the top to lightest at the bottom.

Why does that give a limit? Take the ingredient in position 3. The two above it weigh at least as much as it does. So those three together weigh at least three times its weight. They are part of a 1,200 mg blend, so three times its weight is at most 1,200. Its weight is at most 400 mg.

The whole method

Ceiling = blend total ÷ position number. It holds for every blend that follows the ordering rule, and it needs no guesses.

At a glance

Key facts

  • Rule: a blend lists ingredients in descending order of weight (21 CFR 101.36). Position k of a blend totalling T weighs at most T ÷ k.
  • At two capsules (1,200 mg) the ceilings are 1,200, 600, 400, 300, 240, 200, 171.4 and 150 mg. At one capsule they halve.
  • A ceiling is a limit, not a dose. The true amount could be anywhere from a trace up to it.
  • Nettle root: ceiling 300 mg, studied dose 360 mg. The position forbids it, whatever the split.
  • Saw palmetto and boron cannot both reach their studied doses in the same bottle.
  • No standardization is printed, so the milligrams on this label cannot be lined up with the milligrams in a study. Not FDA approved, as no supplement is.
The table

What are the eight SodaPeak ceilings?

Here is every position, with the ceiling at the panel’s 2-capsule serving, the ceiling at one capsule, and the lowest dose we could find in a published human trial. The studied dose is the most generous reading for the product, the smallest at which anything was reported.

Ceilings and studied doses, position by position
#IngredientCeiling, 2 capsCeiling, 1 capLowest studied dosePosition allows it?
1Horny goat weed1,200 mg600 mgNone establishedNothing to compare
2Tongkat ali600 mg300 mg100 mg a day, 12 weeksYes, at both doses
3Saw palmetto400 mg200 mg320 mg a dayAt 2 caps only (1.25×)
4Nettle root300 mg150 mg360 mg a day, 6 monthsNo, at either dose
5Wild yam240 mg120 mgNone establishedNothing to compare
6Sarsaparilla200 mg100 mgNo human trialNothing to compare
7Orchic substance171.4 mg85.7 mgNone establishedNothing to compare
8Boron chelate150 mg75 mgAbout 60 mg of a 5% chelateYes, at both doses

The boron row needs care. The trials dosed elemental boron: 3 mg in one, 10 mg in another. The label names a chelate, a raw material, and prints no elemental figure. The 5% grade is a common trade figure, not a specification for this product, so we do not print a boron number.

Who clears it

Which SodaPeak ingredients can reach a studied dose?

Allowed: tongkat ali
At 600 mg the ceiling has six times the studied 100 mg. The trial behind it also found 200 mg did better than 100 mg. The label does not say if its “powder” matches the standardized extract in the trials.
Allowed: saw palmetto
400 mg clears 320 mg by a factor of 1.25. At one capsule a day, 200 mg does not.
Allowed: boron chelate
The ceiling is 150 mg of chelate, well above the 60 mg level. But the element it delivers is not stated.
Forbidden: nettle root
A 300 mg ceiling cannot reach 360 mg. This is the one hard “no” the label’s own arithmetic gives.
No test possible: four ingredients
For these four we found no verified oral human dose. With no dose, the ceiling has nothing to be set against.

Allowed means permitted, not present. An ingredient could still sit at a trace. The limit only closes doors. It never opens one.

The proof

Why can saw palmetto and boron not both reach their doses?

This is the neatest result on the label. Follow it step by step.

  1. Give saw palmetto 320 mg

    It sits third. Positions 1 and 2 must each weigh at least as much, so at least 320 mg each.

  2. Add the top three

    That is at least 960 mg. Out of 1,200 mg, at most 240 mg is left for positions 4 to 8.

  3. Give boron 60 mg

    It sits eighth, the lightest. Positions 4, 5, 6 and 7 must each weigh at least 60 mg.

  4. Add positions 4 to 8

    Boron plus the four above it need at least 300 mg. But only 240 mg is left.

300 is more than 240, so the two cannot both hold. In every bottle, one of the two is below its studied dose. So at most two of the eight could sit at a tested amount, and nobody outside the maker can tell you which two.

The limits

What is a ceiling not?

  • Not a dose. It is the largest an ingredient could be.
  • Not an estimate. We do not guess the split. The limit holds for every possible split.
  • Not a verdict. A position that allows a dose says nothing about whether the ingredient works.
  • Not about the element. Without standardization, a milligram of extract weighs the raw material, not the active part.

There is one more risk. The method trusts the printed order. If the panel were mis-typeset, the ceilings would be wrong too. The mismatched asterisks on this panel show that labels can carry small errors. So the arithmetic is only as good as the artwork it reads.

Comparing

How does SodaPeak compare with another supplement?

Anyone searching “SodaPeak vs” another product wants a quick contest. We hold no label for any other product, so we do not run one. What we can give is a fair method that works on any blend:

  1. Fix the serving

    Compare the same number of capsules, or the same weight.

  2. Find the total and the order

    If one label prints amounts, you can skip the ceiling step for it.

  3. List the studied doses

    Use the lowest published human dose of each ingredient, from a source you can open.

  4. Mark the forbidden ones

    Any position whose ceiling is below its studied dose is out of reach.

  5. Ask for the missing papers

    A certificate of analysis for your lot, and the standardization of each extract.

A label that gives amounts beats one that hides them, whatever the price. How good SodaPeak is cannot be settled by arithmetic alone. It can only be narrowed.

Quick questions

Frequently asked questions

How much saw palmetto is in SodaPeak?

The label does not say. It sits third of eight in a 1,200 mg blend, so the most it can be is 400 mg per 2-capsule serving. At one capsule a day the most is 200 mg. The studied dose is 320 mg.

How much tongkat ali is in SodaPeak?

Not stated. It is second, so it can be at most 600 mg per serving, which is above the 100 mg used in its trial. It could also be a trace.

Can nettle root reach its studied dose in SodaPeak?

No. It is fourth, so its ceiling is 300 mg at two capsules, below the 360 mg a day used in its trials. No split of the blend changes that.

How much boron is in SodaPeak?

Unknown. The label names a boron amino acid chelate and prints no elemental figure. Its position holds the chelate to 150 mg at most, but the elemental dose cannot be worked out from the label.

Is the SodaPeak blend standardized?

No standardization is printed for any ingredient. That makes a milligram on this label hard to compare with a milligram in a study.

Is the ceiling method proof of anything?

It proves limits, not amounts. It can rule a dose out, as with nettle root. It can never show an ingredient is present at a useful amount.

References

Sources

    U.S. Government Publishing Office21 CFR 101.36 — Nutrition labeling of dietary supplements, including the proprietary blend and descending-order requirements — Code of Federal Regulations · sourceChinnappan, Rahmat, Mohamed et al. — 2021Efficacy of Eurycoma longifolia (Physta®) on testosterone and quality of life in men aged 50 to 70 — Food & Nutrition Research · DOI 10.29219/fnr.v65.5647 · sourceBent, Kane, Shinohara et al. — 2006Saw palmetto for benign prostatic hyperplasia — New England Journal of Medicine · DOI 10.1056/NEJMoa053085 · PMID 16467543 · sourceSafarinejad — 2005Urtica dioica for treatment of benign prostatic hyperplasia: a prospective, randomized, double-blind, placebo-controlled, crossover study — Journal of Herbal Pharmacotherapy · DOI 10.1080/J157v05n04_01 · PMID 16635963 · sourceNielsen, Hunt, Mullen, Hunt — 1987Effect of dietary boron on mineral, estrogen, and testosterone metabolism in postmenopausal women — The FASEB Journal, volume 1 · DOI 10.1096/fasebj.1.5.3678698 · PMID 3678698 · sourceNIH Office of Dietary SupplementsBoron — Health Professional Fact Sheet — ods.od.nih.gov · source
Our view

Our view

Our view is that a ceiling is the honest middle ground. It does not accuse the product, and it does not take marketing on faith. It uses only what the label prints.

What it shows is that SodaPeak is not hopeless and not proven. Three positions could carry a studied dose, one cannot, four have no dose to test, and two of the three cannot both be there. The only fix is disclosure: amounts for each ingredient and a certificate that names your lot.

No FDA approval stands behind SodaPeak, and none stands behind any supplement. Before you count on any single ingredient, ask a doctor if you have a condition or take medicine.

Last updated

SodaPeak — 60 capsules, 30 days1,200 mg, 8 ingredients · price shown at checkoutSee the packs